Facebook briefly hid its ‘delete’ option on posts – Mashable

Shared from Mashable

Image: Matt Rourke/AP/REX/Shutterstock

Facebook users who maybe posted some, um, interesting things in their formative years have always been able to take comfort in their ability to delete those posts when it comes time for a job interview or two. 

But Facebook recently sent users into a panic after it changed its “delete” option on posts for some desktop users.

The change was , who noticed confusion among some people using Facebook on their desktops.

Later, VentureBeat and that the “delete” option had just been moved to the “activity log” section for some desktop users. If those users didn’t realize where the “delete” button had gone, they were forced to settle with selecting “hide from timeline.”

(Writers note: My Facebook desktop account still allows me to delete posts, at least as of the time of writing this post. That means Facebook either only tweaked its “delete” option for some users, or only changed with the “delete” option for a set amount of time. Or it was some kind of glitch.)

Facebook tweaks its platform frequently, so it wouldn’t be surprising to learn that this change was a test rolled out to a few users.

We’ve reached out to Facebook for more info about the decision to move the option on desktop, and we’ll let you know when we hear something. 

Https%3a%2f%2fblueprint api production.s3.amazonaws.com%2fuploads%2fvideo uploaders%2fdistribution thumb%2fimage%2f82967%2f7e1f7535 a028 4885 9984 973f49d6cd0c

Original Article and Images from Mashable